RSS Feed

My World Changed

Posted on

This day, ten years ago, changed my life as I know it did everyone in this country.

It was on this day that our country was attacked…and I finally decided to take notice.

I woke up to my phone ringing and my mom on the other end telling me to turn on the tv.  Little did I realize that from that day forward, my world and outlook of our country, would change.

It was then that I finally took notice of what I should have taken notice of before.  I take notice now; I care now.  I care about what is happening to my country and who is running it and HOW they are running it.  I no longer sit back and let those who are elected take charge.  That’s not what this country is about.  We are about EVERYONE participating in this country.  It’s what makes us great.

However, the biggest change that it made in me was my gratitude.  My gratitude to every person, every hero, of this country.  My gratitude to every man and woman in the military, every person on any police force, every person who is a firefighter and every other public service who puts their lives on the line every day by just putting on a uniform.

Each one of those people consciously wake up and go to work to put their lives before mine.  They willingly give up their lives to protect each one of us.  The least I can give them is my thanks.

How was your life changed?

About Jenni

I'm a happily married, thirty-something, Orthodox Chirstian, San Diegan, child development professions...that's me in a nutshell. But there is so much more to me! Come find out!

Leave a Reply

