RSS Feed

the quickest way to feeling old

Posted on

Work with teenage kids.  That’s the quickest way to make yourself feel old.

Here are these people who should laugh when you reference the Smurfs, Punky Brewster, or Care Bears.  I mean, they might not have been exactly the same age as me when those things were popular…but they still were on this planet right?

I quickly find the answer is WRONG!

I love my job!  Seriously, truly, LOVE it!

But, there is no faster way to feel old than to reference the “Energizer Bunny” and they just look at you with a blank stare on your face. (you know, “it just keeps going, and going, and going…”?)

Or to talk about the Jetsons and they have NO CLUE what you’re talking about.

It’s not the things THEY reference or like or their taste in food/music/clothes that make me feel old.  Nope, it’s the lack of knowledge of things past.

I wouldn’t change it though.  It’s pretty great experiencing things through them.

What makes you feel old?

Have you ever referenced something from the past to realize the audience it too young to know what you’re talking about?

About Jenni

I'm a happily married, thirty-something, Orthodox Chirstian, San Diegan, child development professions...that's me in a nutshell. But there is so much more to me! Come find out!

Leave a Reply

