RSS Feed

Summer

Posted on

Did you know that summer is officially over after tomorrow?

No?  Well it is…for me anyway.

See, I run a children’s program and the day after Labor Day ALL schools will have officially started.  Monday we are closed to kids (although we do have a staff work day…I know, sucks and I’m a mean manager for making them come in, but I have to) which means that as of 6pm tomorrow, summer will be completely OVER!

Why am I so excited?  Because kids have to be entertained and kept engaged when they aren’t in school and a WHOLE SUMMER is a long time.  Especially when you are down staff members.  Bored kids are worse than anything…well, bored TEENS are the worst of all!

So, I now know why parents are always so excited for school to start up!

Don’t get me wrong, I thoroughly enjoyed the summer; it was just go-go-go for 3 solid months (and more if you count the planning, scheduling, reserving, ticket buying that went along with it before it even started).  It’s time for a vacation I think!

I thoroughly enjoy my job as well.  I love the time that I’ve been able to spend with the kids and teachers through the summer.  We have some great kids and getting to provide them these experiences, often their first time at most of these places, was truly amazing!

So, while I can’t wait for Friday to be over…I kind of already started planning for next summer as well.

Are you excited for summer to be over?

What do you love about your job?

 

About Jenni

I'm a happily married, thirty-something, Orthodox Chirstian, San Diegan, child development professions...that's me in a nutshell. But there is so much more to me! Come find out!

2 responses »

  1. I love summer but I was always ready for school to begin, even as a kid and then when my children were young I always enjoyed the routine that came with school! Now that my kids are grown the end of summer doesn’t really matter all that much to me except that fall is a beautiful season.
    I guess, having my Master’s in Education maybe I should look into getting a job in my field, not necessarily teaching but maybe a daycare or some volunteering with a youth program? Perfect time to look into it,don’t you think? Kind of like, a beginning!

    Enjoy your new school year!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

