RSS Feed

Beachy

Posted on

There are good and not as good parts of my job.  I can’t really say “bad” because, seriously, how can there be anything bad when you work with kids.  Especially doing what I do.  Even the “bad” parts of the job has it’s perks.

Yesterday was Saturday…we had to work.  Okay, as the Program Manager I didn’t have to work; but I would have felt horrible had I just left my staff to work that day and not participate.

Besides, it was Saturday, but work involved spending the day AT THE BEACH!  Seriously!

Oh, and it basically meant getting the kids signed in and on the bus at the beginning of the day, then back on the bus and signed out at the end of the day.

The rest of it?  Involved sitting on the beach, having a BBQ, while a HUGE group of volunteers/donors literally spent one-on-one time with each of the 60 kids we brought with us.  There was literally nothing else for us to do except be there.

If all of our adventures with the kids could be this easy…well, there was the group of teen boys who were completely unappreciative of what was provided for them and I had to give them a lesson in gratitude and respect for the adults in charge; but that was minimal!

What’s your favorite part of your job?

Do you ever have to work extra days you don’t want to?

About Jenni

I'm a happily married, thirty-something, Orthodox Chirstian, San Diegan, child development professions...that's me in a nutshell. But there is so much more to me! Come find out!

Leave a Reply

