RSS Feed

August

Posted on

One year ago this month, my life changed.  I went into the month not knowing how much everything was going to change.  If you asked me what I thought I was going to be doing this time this year, I would never have even guessed at the reality.

August was my one full month of lay off.  It started August 1st and ended when I started my new job September 1st.  But everything in between those two dates were life changing.

Most life changing of all, was, of course, the whole job search, interview, hiring thing.  I mean, I went from being a trainer for preschool teachers (a job that I loved and totally thought was my life path) to running a million dollar program that has children from newborn infants to 18 year old teens.  This program is in a well known organization and has a HUGE impact on the children and families who are there.

While I am cocky enough to say I rock of that job; I’m also humble enough to know that I am given an opportunity and appreciate it and also wonder when will someone realize I’m not actually good enough to do the job.  I mean, I’m not, am I?  How did I ever get a job like this?  When will it be discovered that I’m not the person for this job?

I’m not really saying I’m putting on an act, I’m saying that often times I surprise myself in my abilities and skills.  I think God for giving me those skills and abilities and for giving me this awesome opportunity in my life.  This is a complete 180 turn from where I thought I was going in life, but I am so glad I was laid off because I would never have gone to this job had I continued working where I was.

August was a blessing for more than the new job.  While that may have been the BIGGEST most impacting thing that happened last August, the thing I will remember the most about August of 2010 is the time I got to spend with my Grandma.

Because of being laid off, I spent a lot of time with her.  I was able to take her to doctor appointments, went to her therapy group with her, had lunches, went to the movies, spent a day in Coronado, and just had an awesome time together!

It was truly the best month of the year, and ranks right up there as one of the best of my life.  It was another one of the many blessings of being laid off.  Without it, I would have missed many conversations, many memories, and many laughs that I had with my Grandma.

I didn’t know it at the time, but not even 3 months later I would appreciate even more that month because my Grandma passed in November.

Not a day goes by that I don’t think of her and, when I do, I thank God once again for the full month I was able to spend so much time with her and made so many memories with her.  An opportunity I wouldn’t have had had I not been laid off.

So, while being laid off is usually a bad experience for most people; on this side, one year later, I am glad that I had the opportunity.

Have you ever been laid off?

Has there ever been a time in life that you went into unsure, but came out thankful that it had happened?

 

About Jenni

I'm a happily married, thirty-something, Orthodox Chirstian, San Diegan, child development professions...that's me in a nutshell. But there is so much more to me! Come find out!

Leave a Reply

