RSS Feed

90 minutes later

Posted on

I started today going to work and contemplating what I was going to write about when I got home from work.  Was I going to tell you about our awesome kids and how they worked, planned, and saved for the year to earn themselves a trip to Knott’s Soak City?  Didn’t cost my program anything and we were so very proud of them.  I thought that would be an amazing story you would love to hear.

Was I going to write about the things I have learned this past year?  After being laid off exactly 1 year ago Saturday and beginning the interview process 1 year ago Thursday I have been through many more changes than I ever anticipated and they have drastically changed me and my life.  If you asked me last year where I would be right now I never would have guessed it.

I had some other ideas as well.  However, something changed on my way home.

See when I leave work it takes me no more than 25 minutes to get home; on a bad day it might take me 30 minutes, but never more.  Well, unless I plan to stop somewhere on the way, but that doesn’t count.

Today however I left work at 6:30 and called The Husband to let him know I was on my way.  I even had plans as to what I was going to make for dinner.  Just an hour after calling him I had only made it about 5 miles into my trip 20 mile trip.  AN HOUR!!!

I should have been home, dinner cooked, and sitting down eating!

NINETY MINUTES after I called him I finally pulled into the garage.  The last 10 minutes were spent at the drive-thru, but those other 80 minutes?  I was stuck in traffic.

Why?

If you listen to the radio, the reported “police activity that had the freeway closed”.

I, however, have a smartphone and learned that the traffic was because someone was going to jump off a bridge.

Seriously?!?

I mean, really?  I understand people with problems.  I WORK with those people.

However, if you want to end your life one of two things need to happen:

  1. Choose a private place
  2. If you choose a public place that affects the rest of the world, the police just need to physically take you out, just pull you off the ledge, and let the rest of us continue on

It sounds cold when I put it like that.  I don’t want anyone to end their life; but I also don’t think anyone has the right to impeded hundreds of other people’s lives.

I’m tired, cranky, and not you get this post instead of something as great as I mentioned above…those will have to come later…

Have you ever been stuck in traffic like this?

What are your thoughts?

About Jenni

I'm a happily married, thirty-something, Orthodox Chirstian, San Diegan, child development professions...that's me in a nutshell. But there is so much more to me! Come find out!

Leave a Reply

