RSS Feed

The Husband

Posted on

The Husband and I have been married for more than 5 years.  Someday I’ll tell you all about all of it: wedding, proposal, courtship, all the good stuff.  Today, I am going to tell you what made me love him more than anything and how I knew he was the one for me.

When I first met him, I knew he had a son.  His son was in high school at the time.  Months after I met him, lots of various lunches and dinners, going out for ice cream, spending time purusing book stores, and him helping me move into a new apartment (not in that order actually, almost in reverse), I had an incling that he liked me and I liked him.  You know, MORE than friends like.

Both of us kind of skirted around the issue for very real reasons.  Finally, he sucked it up and asked me on our first date.  During that conversation of him asking me out, he looked at me square in the eyes and said, “One thing you have to know is that my son will always come first in this relationship.  There will be no engagement, no wedding, until after he graduates from high school.”

Here’s the thing.  I couldn’t have dated and fallen in love with him if it were any other way.

Were there times when I had to attend family events I attended without him because his son had a soccer game?  PLENTY!  Where there times that I thought “oh, he’s just trying to avoid x, w, or z”? Sometimes.

But, if he hadn’t put his son first during that entire time, there’s no way I could respect him as a father and a husband.

He did everything I would expect a great Dad to do.  Even though he didn’t have him every weekend, The Husband still went to every game, every weekend, every weekday, every art show, every everything!

I had a choice: leave him or pout and act hurt because I didn’t come first.  But really?  Shouldn’t his son come first?

I couldn’t love him if he didn’t say those exact words when he first asked me out.  Not everyone understood my decision to “put up with it”, but I couldn’t love him if he didn’t put his son first.

Yep, I love him because, even when it’s not always easy, he makes the right and important decisions.

What do you love most about your spouse?

What was the one thing he/she said/did while dating that sealed the deal for you?

About Jenni

I'm a happily married, thirty-something, Orthodox Chirstian, San Diegan, child development professions...that's me in a nutshell. But there is so much more to me! Come find out!

Leave a Reply

